P.S. A Blessing on All Libraries

Having just posted about my many technological woes, I have instantly acquired more! This one requires a tiny bit of explanation. Don’t worry if you don’t understand it. Mostly, I don’t either.

The main computer I work on (not the one that died and lost me my internet, that was a creative arrangement organised by my brother that required multiple screens and lots of power cords to keep an entirely different device alive) is a laptop of Very Distinguished Age. Half as old as I am, or thereabouts, and it looks it – there are keys missing, the edges are worn dark where my elbows have rubbed over the years, there’s a discoloured strip down the side of the screen – but I don’t care. It’s my laptop. I love it. The day I have to stop using it, I will grieve.

Anyway, this laptop is NOT connected to the internet. We didn’t have internet at home for quite some time after it was given to me, and by the time that seemed like a good idea, updating would have been torturously awkward, plus I didn’t actually need updates for what I do. I write on my laptop. That’s more or less our entire relationship. It’s lovely.

Unfortunately, now the briefcase folder I made on that laptop to keep all my files synced is misbehaving on other computers because apparently I do not have permission to use everything on it. DO NOT ASK ME WHY. I made it? I am the only person who uses it? Also, I am using library internet when I find this out, have four minutes left on my session time and am trying very hard not to burst into violent coughing. The reason I did not start crying from pure frustration is because a librarian came over, figured out what was wrong, showed me how to fix it and extended my session time so I could finish my work without further stress. When the briefcase enacted a new and exciting block, a second librarian came over and fixed it again. My work got done. My sanity was preserved.

Librarians of the world, bless you all.

2 thoughts on “P.S. A Blessing on All Libraries

  1. Technology stresses me out of what little sanity I cling to week to week. Not long ago I was trying to clean gunk out of my keys, as one does with a new laptop, and I figured I’d do it with all my important applications closed. Nothing could be harmed on my desktop screen by a careless key press, I thought. Keyboard cleaned, I then attempted to start a little office work, only to find that all my work related documents were gone, completely gone. No searches could find them, they weren’t in the trash. They were simply vanished. I could have cried. So much work lost.

    Or not so lost. Turns out I had hit the very precise keys necessary to select my work folder and rename it with some invalid characters. All I had to do was change the name back and it was as good as fixed. The panic, though, probably shortened my life a fair deal.

Leave a Reply

