A Convergence of Inconvenience

Hello, blog! Due to the unexpected collision of a bad cold and multiple technological failures, I am currently without internet. That rather makes it sound like I somehow manages to infect my computer with a cold, which would actually be better than its mysterious yet total collapse. The cold was just bad timing since it left me huddled under a blanket in the company of a tissue box, unable to get to the library to check emails. I have been re-reading Douglas Adams and Jane Austen and getting slightly twitchy.

But on to the good news! I was delighted to discover that my short story ‘Blueblood’, published in Ticonderoga’s anthology Hear Me Roar, has been nominated in two categories for the Aurealis Awards: best YA short story and best fantasy short story. The full shortlist can be seen here. The awards will be announced at the Contact convention, which is being held in Brisbane this year – my city! Also in Ticonderoga news, they are running a Kickstarter right now for the next Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror. These collections are an excellent way to catch up with the varied short speculative fiction being published in Australia over each year, so why not take a look?

Since I am currently using library internet, my presence will be a bit patchy for a while – if you leave a comment, I will eventually get back to you! In the meantime, my blog projects will hopefully go ahead as normal.

Leave a Reply

