Review No.115 – The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (The Inheritance Trilogy No.1) – N.K. Jemisin

Orbit, 2010

To be Arameri is to wield the power of the gods. Their family have reigned over the world for a thousand years, while in the city of Sky ambitions and enmities seethe against a backdrop of obscene opulence. It is a world Yeine’s mother Kinneth rejected long ago, retreating to the ‘barbarian’ province of Darr, but that does not change the blood in her daughter’s veins. As the leader of the Arameri prepares to choose his heir, Yeine is summoned to Sky for the first time. This may be her chance to avenge the oldest of wrongs…if she can survive past sunset.

Little endears me more to a protagonist than competence and Yeine has that in spades. Her narration is pragmatically matter-of-fact, but also skilfully nuanced. The world-building is excellent, taking the most fantastical concepts and making them utterly, heartbreakingly believable. The trilogy continues with The Broken Throne.

3 thoughts on “Review No.115 – The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

  1. This book has been on my wishlist for a while, though it missed the cut for my book haul of 2014. I’m itching for it though. It’s attracted enough positive attention that I’m willing to give it a try.

    • So many books, so little time! This one has a lot of good things going for it, though, and I’m definitely going to read the rest of the trilogy. I’d be interested in what you think, if and when you end up reading it.

      • All my fiction reviews go up on my blog, but this book isn’t even on my shelves yet, and I’m forbidden from buying any more books until after our move, so it might be a while T.T

Leave a Reply

