An Update from the Edge of the Witch’s Cauldron

July was one hell of a month. Which is not to say it was hellish, only somewhat draining. But you know, it was also a month in which Hogswatch came to Brisbane, Jane Austen became an official part of British currency, and I finally got my hands on Sarah Rees Brennan’s Unspoken. The universe obviously knows when I need a pick-me-up. I also kind of gatecrashed a book club in order to defend the good name of Douglas Adams. That was one of the ways July was nice, actually, because though no one in the book club liked poor Douglas at all, they listened to my Alice in Wonderland comparisons very politely and offered me biscuits.

Now it is AUGUST. The year is officially more than half over. If that doesn’t alarm you, congratulations, you must be a terrifically organised person. If it does, take a deep breath and find the ‘keep calm’ meme to suit your individual needs. Either way, here are several things that will improve your month:

  • Yesterday I paid a visit to 10 Bailey Street in West End, Brisbane, where an exhibition called ‘Once Upon a Time: reinterpreting the fairytale‘ is currently on display. This is a thing I obviously had to see, and you should too, because it’s a dangerous rainbow of gorgeous, on a spectrum of adorable whimsy to dark mystery.

my head is a junglelady of the broom

paper castle

  • It is Science Fiction and Fantasy Month at Logan North Library, concluding on the 31st with a booksale, author panel and roaming stormtroopers.
  • The film version of Cassandra Clare’s demon-hunting, snark-infused YA debut City of Bones will be released in Australia on the 22nd. I love the book too much to expect a matching love for the film, but from everything I’ve seen so far it looks very promising.
  • The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2012, published by Ticonderoga, should be available by September. It includes my short story ‘Oracle’s Tower’, first published in FableCroft’s To Spin a Darker Stair, and I will post full details on that as soon as I can.

In the meantime here are some photos of random magic in West End, including positive proof that there are witches in this city.

seahorse love story cauldron of the urban witch

Leave a Reply

