Year of the Dreamer

So, if I was needing more reasons to love December…it’s official, my short story ‘Winter’s Heart’ will be included in Fablecroft Publishing’s new anthology One Small Step! The table of contents is up on the Fablecroft website. And what company am I in! There are contributions by Rowena Cory Daniells, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Angela Slatter, Kathleen Jennings and so many more – all edited of course by the wonderful Tehani Wessely. It is due to be released in April next year, the same time as Dreaming of Djinn, so…all I can say is, April 2013 will be a month to remember! There is also a Christmas special on my previous work with Fablecroft, the boutique collection To Spin a Darker Stair, which pairs my story ‘Oracle’s Tower’ with Catherynne M. Valente’s darkly beautiful ‘A Delicate Architecture’.

This has been an amazing year for me. Things that I have been dreaming of for years are finally beginning to happen, which is – a little overwhelming, actually. Don’t worry. I’m sure I can get used to it.

On the 20th of this month the Dreamline will have been around for seven months. It was, still is in fact, my first ever blog and I don’t know how long I spent trying to come up with a good first post, but it was long enough to work myself into a state of intense nervous cynicism. I expected trouble from the first. I’d heard a lot of horror stories about people who have been forced offline by anonymous aggression; bloggers I really like keep coming out with new restrictions so that they can cope with the strain.

As it turned out, I am harder to find than I gave myself credit for, and I like it that way. I still don’t know how half the people who visit this site locate it – it isn’t even the first thing that comes up when you Google my name, so go figure that one.

I know I’ll get the wrong sort of attention eventually if I stay online. It’s a matter of statistical probabilities. But you know what? I haven’t had a single unpleasant comment yet. You have been absolutely fantastic, readers of the Dreamline, and I want to thank you for that. I started this with one toe in the water, really wary about what I was getting myself into. Now I know that next week I’ll be publishing my hundredth post. I have talked about everything from Margaret Mahy to Jane Austen, fairy tales to feminism, and there’s still so much more to say. There will be new directions to take in 2013, more books to review and fairy tales to explore, rants to be made and news to share. I’m looking forward to it.

Whatever you believe and celebrate at this time of year, may the rest of your December be happy and your new year bright. Best wishes from the Dreamline.

Leave a Reply

