An Update From My Side of the Universe

Who am I? What am I doing? Existential angst aside, it has occurred to me that almost everything I post on this blog is a review or vignette, so here is a little context about the person who writes them. If you couldn’t care less, feel free to skip to the next post. It’s a vignette. There is complementary coffee.

So what have I been doing? Reading, of course, and writing, in different stories roughly divided along the line between wizards and androids. I am editing my second novel and consequentially tearing my hair out by the roots. Also, having inhaled both seasons of the inexpressibly excellent Stargate Universe on DVD, finishing up just yesterday, I’ve turned to  YouTube tributes in order to numb the heartbreak. Seriously, how could something so good be cut short just when the possibilities were so open? I see gene replicas, transferred consciousness, controlled time travel, another whole galaxy of aliens. Bring it back, people! It’s not too late! On a more positive note, there will be another season of my other favourite TV show of the year, Once Upon A Time. I will be posting up my thoughts on season one very soon and crossing my fingers that season two arrives in Australia pronto. The latest season of Doctor Who has and I am looking forward to finding out what the connection is between dinosaurs and spaceships. No one is allowed to tell me ANYTHING about this until after 7:30 p.m. on Saturday.

I have been reading other people’s blogs – not so many as I would like, because my brain tends to shut down after being online too long, but if you like my vignettes see a master magician at work with Erin Morgernstern’s flax golden tales here. It was seeing her use the format that made me think of writing that way myself and it is endless fun. I am also following Tansy Rayner Roberts’ posts about comic book superheroines. I know virtually nil about comic books so it’s quite fascinating hearing someone who loves them talk about the complexities of such long-running characters.

There is some personal panic about politics, but you don’t want to know about that. I don’t want to know about it. I want to pretend I can’t hear or see what’s going on until someone puts a ballot paper in my hand.

That’s enough about me for the next couple of months, I think. Unless they bring back Stargate Universe, of course, in which case you will hear fangirl screams from space. In the meantime, here is a vignette. Enjoy the coffee.

Leave a Reply

